science and technology are more important than History

People in the field of Science and Technology have been able to do major discoveries such as electricity, vaccines, computers and other numerous innovations which contributed to the well-being of the humans. Hence, one might perceive science and technology are more important than History. Nevertheless, there are some people including me, who believe that every subject has a unique importance and we cannot downplay any subject. The inescapable fact is that, the world has become more science oriented than before. Hence, more value and respect are given to the professions in the field of science and Technology. Owing to this fact, parents encourage children to become doctors, engineers and scientists which are careers biased towards science. Due to this, from a young age a picture is created in the minds of children to believe that these professions are superior to other professions. It has arguably resulted in more people to incline to these careers which in turn helps the scientific community get more work force. On the other hand, there are some people who believe History is the one of most important school subjects. Their argument is that History is the foundation of a civilization. Moreover, they believe that if a society to thrive, people in it should understand and give a proper value to their history. Another strong point which supports this argument is that we can learn from our history so that we are able to refrain from repeating the same mistakes we did in the past. For an example we learnt a lot lessons from the world wars that took place with the involvement of many countries. Every country makes sure that same mistake will not be done again. To sum up, while people should be given the freedom to choose a field they like, they should not look down upon other fields. Children should be taught to respect every field and a basic understanding should be given to them on both history and science.