Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think that school time should be used in learning important subjects. Discuss both views and give your opinion? Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There has always been a raging debate whether people should learn the science and preparation of food or not in the school. I am going to explain both views in further paragraphs and express my opinion at the end. Food is an essential survival substance. It is necessary for us to understand the nutrition of food and the importance of healthy diet. Unhealthy diet affects our mental and physical health in different aspects. Seriously, people may lose their lives because of unhealthy diet. Apart from food science, schools also need to provide cooking class as compulsory course. People should learn how to live before learning other things. That is why the knowledge of food should be learn in the school. On the other flip side of the coin, time is limited in school. Academic subjects like mathematics and English are required in every field. It helps career growth in future. School teacher are professional on this field and it is hard to find a person outside the school. In addition, students can learn food science and cooking in their leisure time. They can search for information on the internet or join a cooking class in the free time. So, school should focus on academic development. To my way of thinking, students need to learn survival and academic skills at school. School life occupies most of the time of a student. Learning both skills enhance life and academic development. School can set a limited time to teach food science, such as optional class, workshops and talk. It is the best choice for students.