Schools offer a wide range of courses, including mathematics, science and physical education. Among these subjects, some subjects such as physical education, music and history are less important and should be optional.

Many people believe that students should pay less attention to the subjects of history, physical education and music. I personally disagree with the statement, since I believe that all subjects taught in school are equally important to students. On the one hand, it is a fact that all subjects delivered at school are significant. It plays a meaningful role for students when they grow up, even though each student will be specialized in some specific subject. For example, although a student might become a history teacher in the future, it is essential for him or her to learn about mathematics and science as well. As a teacher, he or she will be given other tasks besides teaching such as preparing the expenditure budget of his or her class for a year, which demand some accounting and calculation skills. Secondly, it is obvious that all individuals have their own different talents. Some students may have a personal interest in studying music, art-related subjects while others might have the passion in learning mathematics and science. And if the school only focuses on studying two or three particular subjects such as Math, science, physics then it would be unfair for students who have the passion in music, art, physical education. In conclusion, I do not approve that schools give less attention to the subjects of physical education, music and history and turn them into self-selected subjects.