Schools are spending more time teaching the traditional subjects such as History. Some people think they should rather spend more time in teaching skills which can help students to get a job.

Some people argue that schools spend too much time to teach subjects like history; in their opinion, it is more important to impart practical skills that can help students find good jobs in future. I completely agree with this opinion because learning skills that improve the job worthiness of students is far more important than learning history. First and foremost, studying these job-oriented skills helps students to be more confident in their fields. Consequently, they find it easy to get employed and perform well in their professions. In other words, the more they learn, the more they can apply that knowledge to their practical life. For instance, courses that emphasise on practical or vocational skills better equip students for the workplace. By contrast, those who major in history have fewer job opportunities. While history is certainly essential to learn about our past, it is not a subject that prepares students for the workplace and as such it should not be given too much importance in the curriculum. Likewise, we are now living in an age where communication skills have become quite important. Still, very few schools focus on developing these skills. Consequently, when students enter the workplace they struggle to efficiently communicate with their teammates and this hurts their productivity. Obviously, teaching skills that make students more employable is far more important than teaching them about the past. To conclude, it is vital that educational institutions, especially high schools, add some skill learning courses into the curriculum and reduce the emphasis on subjects like history and geography because the ultimate aim of education is equipping students with skills required to earn a livelihood