School children are affected by many people in the development of their intelligence and social skills. Do parents have a great influence on their development, or do teacher also play a significant role in their progress?

It is believed that some teachers who are excellent, knowledgeable and experienced will help students to do well in academic learning. However, in my opinion, although teachers may have certain impacts on this, I personally disagree that parents have less influence on their children’s intelligence and social skills than teachers. On the one hand, it is admitted that teachers can affect the growth of their students in terms of intelligence and social dexterity. In fact, students, especially young children, are highly sensitive to people’s behaviours around them. Therefore, when students are sent to school, they spend most of their time with their teachers and this why their development can be easily influenced by teaching them. In addition to, teachers also educate them about valuable life lessons during their initial school years. They can meet or make friends with other children of the same age at school to begin a form some of their first friendship. Nevertheless, the effect of parents on their children is much more important than that of teachers. Firstly, parents spend far more time with their children than any individual teacher is able to do. They can teach or direct the outdoor activities to their children outside school times, at weekends and also during holidays. Also, unlike teacher who are in a change of looking after many students at the same time, parents have only one or few children to take care of, they are able to spend more time talking or playing game with them to help them better in communication or thinking skills. It is hardly possible for teachers to do this. Secondly, parents are able to provide role models in a whole range of situations. These might include showing respect towards elders, choice of friends or the attitude when go outside or go to the restaurant. In conclusion, despite some good impacts of teachers which can define how intelligent and how good at social skills on students, parents still have a great influence on their children. In my view, it is essential for both of them to join hands for take care of them and the sake of the comprehensive growth of children.