School and university students learn lessons far better from their teachers than from other sources such as the Internet and television

There is no doubt that education has changed since the introduction of the Internet and television. Some people believe that these technologies have rendered the original way of learning obsolete completely. In my opinion, however, the role of teachers is still essential in the learning process. No one can argue with the fact that modern technologies have diversified the way of learning. Today, students can rely on visual means represented by television in their learning process, which in turn helps them to have the firsthand experience on the objects which they have never seen nor visited in person. Also, the advent of the Internet has allowed students to progress their acquisition of knowledge at their own pace regardless of the different intellectual capacities in their class. In this way, the technological advancement has influenced education in positive ways resulting in children’s versatile development and their active learning. Despite the argument above, I do not believe that the importance of teachers in the classroom has started to fade. Teachers’ expertise is still required for students, especially at the elementary level. Since they are knowledgeable about their students’ deficiencies and many teaching methodologies, they can offer the most suitable solution for each student. It is such human interaction hardly mimicked by modern technologies which allows students have better chances of avoiding a failure in a subject. To summarise, in my opinion, teachers play and will continue to play an indispensable role in the classroom, at least in the foreseeable future. No matter how elaborated modern technologies become, there will be no replacement for the human interaction.