Saleem Vs. Mother Courage

Literature authors compose their masterpieces to inform their target audience about the issues taking place in their immediate environment. Thus, literature tells community members about the impacts of social issues and the consequences of community members' responses. Society member's response to war and conflict differs significantly. The essay evaluates the impacts of war on society members by comparing protagonists in Midnight's Children and Mother Courage and Her kids. The two masterpieces resonate around the theme of war and its impacts of war on community members. The Midnight's Children narrates the life story of SalemSinai until his 31st birthday. Midnight's Children protagonist Saleem Sinai explains that his life will crumble due to events that befall his birthday between 12 AM and 1 AM. On the other hand, Mother Courage and Her Children follow the story of Courage and her family in 12 years of war(Tekin, 2010). Irrespective that mother courage lost everything she valued (including her three kids), she does not give up and is determined to better her life. Mother Courage and Saleem Sinai suffer many life miseries, but the way the two characters respond reveals ca clear line of character. The essay aims at comparing the two characters from the perspectives of events taking place in the story. Similarities between Saleem and Mother Courage The presence of magic is a significant concept in the two stories. In Midnight's Children, characters with supernatural powers are evident in Parvati's basket and prophetic dream shares. Mother Courage and her Children also bear traits of supernatural powers. Both Saleem and Mother Courage use magical powers to manipulate their way out of difficult situations. Saleem has an enhanced sense of smell and telepathy (Rashdie, 2010). The latter traits help him connect with other kids and mark his source of income and motivation. Mother courage also poses magical powers in form second sight. She uses her second sense to depict how the war will affect people and consumes every. In the later explained situation, the two apply supernatural powers to cope with challenges and events beyond human control. Even though Saleem and Mother Courage have varying perceptions about life at the end of each story, they apply a similar thinking line and evaluate issues taking place in their lives from the same outlook. Saleem's final insights show reveals his misgiving and desperation in life. Saleem argues"¦it is definitely the privilege as well as the curse of midnights kids to be the two masters and victims with their times, to forsake personal privacy and be taken into the annihilating whirlpool with the multitudes, also to be unable to live or perish in peace" (Rashdie2010). Mother Courage illustrates the same line of thoughts when she sings, "The common man won't advantage. Filthy his food, simply no soap to shave him" (Brecht 1991). The two characters agree on the fact that nothing is working in favor of the ordinary man. It should, however, be noted that Mother Courage, despite her misgivings, still hopes that one-day things might turn out positive "But nevertheless a miracle may preserve him, Another day is another day! " (Brecht 1991)