rule of law in magna carta and leviathan

Magna Carta and Hobbes’s Leviathan played an important role as two early moments in the development of the rule of law in British. On one hand, we have Hobbes describe the natural condition of mankind before society, government, and the invention of law. This natural condition, free of all artificial interferences is one of continuous war and violence of death and fear. This condition is known as the "state of nature"; and Hobbes's depiction of this state is the most famous passage in leviathan. The Hobbesian state of nature is an instructive function, a reasoned deduction of what human nature might have been like in a hypothetical existence prior to any civilization. Yet while Hobbes concedes that it never existed in actual history. he asserts that, to a degree, the state of nature is a reality, we see approximations of it in lives of the "savage people of America", he says, and European approach it in times of civil war. Further evidence of our natural condition can be seen in our mistrust of others, criminal behavior, and domination of weak countries by strong counties. On the other hand, we have the year of the Magna Carta between 1200 and 1300. Magna Carta was issued in Juin 1215 and was the first document to put into writing the principle that the king and his government were not above the law. It sought to prevent the king from exploiting his power in itself. Danziger and Gilling ham, professor emeritus of history at the London School of Economics, In this chapter they get deeper into the meaning of the document itself, marvelous details about daily life abound while myths and misperceptions are firmly swept away. The infamous King John, who signed the Great Charter, moves slowly to the center stage against the background stories of his parents, the legendary Henery 2 and Eleanor of Aquitaine, his brother Richard Lionheart, and other great figures of the day, both historical and mythical, including Robin Hood and Thomas Becket. When the reader reaches the climactic chapter, in which the barons force the charter on John. the document has jumped of the pedestal on which tradition has placed it and become a living thing. The event itself and the details of the document show how age-old practices and last-minute concessions shaped the text. Danziger and Gillingham make it clear that Magna Carta Was not an abstract thesis, but a brilliant response to particular times and circumstances.