Robotic Automation and Society

Mass production, the use of machines and now computers have drastically changed production processes in industry. These transformations in industry have always been accompanied with major societal changes. The fourth industrial revolution, which is the automation of manual labour by using robots, is no exception. With the increasing use of robots in production the job landscape has and especially will radically change, which will also lead to major changes is society. Manual labour such as building cars, can nowadays already be accomplished by the help of robots. These are connected with each other in assembly lines and can act autonomously. The trend shows that more and more manual labour is being replaced by robotic systems. On the one hand this is a relief for workers that are employed in this industry, because it means dangerous and unhealthy work can be done by robots. But on the other hand this also leads to a structural change in the job landscapes, hereby replacing jobs in manual labour with highly specialized jobs s in fields such as computer science or electrical engineering. This change that is being embraced by employers, because they are able to reduce production costs and replace workers by robots, will be causing a wave of unemployment for unskilled workers. The argumentation often used by advocates of the usage of robots, is that workers could easily switch their working areas and will find other jobs. The opponents argue that even if all workers could be re-educated, only few skilled people would be needed, therefore creating a gap in the job market with lots of people searching for work but only few new jobs being created. Moreover they argue that not everybody can and in particular wants to be re-educated. This is an argument that must not be underestimated. Even if there are great re-education programs and health benefits by not working in manual labour anymore employees might not want to change their profession. With load of examples in history, like the weavers revolt, one can easily imagine that this fear of being unemployed while only the few that own the means of production get richer, might lead to serious disruptions. A solution for these problems that currently is heavily discussed in politics is the universal basic income. A universal basic income would mean that everybody will be equally provided with a fixed monthly amount of money, regardless of their background or whether they are working. The advocates of this concepts range from tech moguls such as Marc Zuckerberg to workers Unions. A universal basic income would guarantee everybody to live a life in dignity. Numerous concepts on how such a basic income could be financed have been provided by renowned economists and therefore now being mainly a political question whether it will implemented and in which exact way. Summing it up we see that changes in the way we produce our goods, are always accompanies by changes in society. Therefore, we as a society will have to come up with solutions to meet the rapid changes in industry. I believe that the universal basic income can hereby play an important role, by redefining how we see labour and at the same time making use of the technological progress that can simplify our lives. With a broad spectrum of supporters and also multiple concepts on how it could be financed it now needs an active society that puts some pressure on politicans and keeps the debate on the agenda.