Road transport is taking over rail services. Is this development positive or negative?

Many people believe that road transport is being used more than rail services. In this essay, I will discuss both views of this development. There are many reasons why people prefer using their own vehicles to using rail services. The main reason for believing this is that road transports provide us flexibility as people can freely go to any destinations, stop at any places at any time without being interrupted. Additionally, by travelling by their own vehicles, travellers don’t have to change their schedule in order to accommodate the timetable which is set by the railway department. The second reason is that unlike other kinds of transportations, road transports are not halted in bad weather conditions whether it is rainy or snowy. However, there are still some negative effects about this development that are worth being concerned about. Air pollution and traffic jams are major drawbacks of road transportation. Although there are plenty of reasons for environmental degradation, toxic fumes released from the vehicles are still one of the main reasons. Consequently, not only global warming is increasing, but also it causes many diseases for people such as asthma or even lung cancer. Another disadvantage of this development is that many four wheelers cause traffic jams because the majority of humankind have the same starting and closing office time. Therefore, it results in people waiting in heavy traffic or even late for work. In conclusion, I believe that this development has both merits as well as demerits. However, in this situation, the negative effects of this development which is damaging the environment and causing traffic jams are greater than the positive effects.