These days many people are showing interest in organic farming as a method of production. What are the advantages and disadvantages of organic farming?

Organic farming has been developing steadily during the last decades and is becoming more and more popular now. It goes without saying that this type of agricultural activities provides many benefits, however, at the same time still has drawbacks. To start with, it is important to mention that organic farming, as opposed to conventional one, excludes the use of any pesticides, fertilizers and GMO methods when growing plants. Therefore, the adverse effect on the environment is minimized, as no chemicals interfere the ecological balance. Moreover, it means that products are healthier and of better quality as they do not contain any synthetic substances or genetically modified organisms. For instance, recent research hold by International Federation of Organic Farming has shown that food items from organic farms have 40% more nutrients and vitamins than those sourced from conventional ones. On the other hand, there are still some drawbacks referred to organic farming. As no chemicals are used to boost the crop yield, it requires far more resources to get the same harvest as in commercial farming. As the result, organic products are usually quite expensive which makes them unaffordable not only for the people in need, but sometimes even for the middle class. Besides, crops cultivated by means of organic farming are more exposed to changing weather conditions which may be a huge risk for those involved in this business. The volume of the items produced by means of natural farming is also limited and at the moment not enough food supply may be provided. To some up, organic farming is a great opportunity for developing agriculture in future, however its disadvantages should also be taken into account.