risk measurement and management

The 2008 financial crisis caused seriously negative influences on all aspects of the economy in general and the capital market in particular, leading to the systematic collapse of series powerful corporates. As a response to the global financial crisis, urgent missions are to enhance ability of market participants to handle shocks from financial stress by improving risk measures as well as the estimation of risks and promote standard principles to help bank and financial institutions to keep the financial stability. The role of risk management is becoming more and more important in business goals, and risk measurement models are quickly becoming one of the hot topics of the financial world as an inevitable consequence. In the context that the global economy is facing many difficulties nowadays, especially the significant impact of the coronavirus pandemic, the financial market of each country is confronting with many uncertainties and potential risks. Hence, the question that arises is how to measure and manage risks in the financial industry? In order to control risk effectively, an essential requirement is to develop measures of financial loss. Up to now, there have been many indicators and methods of measuring financial risk are being applied. The Value at Risk (VaR) is one of the most popular methods to measure financial risk in the market risk management and the credit risk of the portfolio. The VaR was developed by JPMorgan (1994) and was popularized as market risk measure for banking regulators. The Basel Committee on Banking Supervision (BCBS) then required financial institutions to meet capital requirements on the basic of VaR estimate, that demonstrated for the attractiveness of VaR. However, VaR still has limitations both on theoretical and practical aspects. A recently new approach to measure the market risk portfolio in financial field is Expected Shortfall (ES), which is considered as remedy for the deficiencies of VaR.