Rising University fees and scarce employment prospects for graduates have led some people to say that universities should not teach arts subjects, like philosophy and history, and only offer practical degree courses to maximize chances of employment.

In general, one persues the field of study which promises good opportunities for career growth and financial aid. With the rising university fees, students feel obligated to take up subjects which offer better employment offers. In this chronology, people are inclined towards sciences and social science subjects and overlook subjects like philosophy, history etc. In my opinion, there should be uniform balance in opportunities between both the streams of arts and science so that students do not lose their interest while in hunt for money. Passion in work always overtakes jobs with payee. Students who are passionate about arts can still conquer and beat the odds by landing good job offers. Meanwhile, Science and technology being at its peak is offering more employment in a variety of sectors more than any other industry in the current times. This is the main reason why parents are admant to enroll their kids to these programs which have a better shot at getting their careers uprooted. Universities on the other hand should motivate students to study subjects based on their interests rather than bag a job. With rise in fees, students need to have the assurance of ending up with good career growth to support themselves and families while keeping their interests alive. Also, to attract people to pursue the arts program, awareness among people needs to be created. Funding to these sectors needs to be more incoming to provide better curriculum and more ideas to benefit from the course. Overall, I think its a matter of how you choose your passion and make a career out of it that counts. Employment and financial aid come along in the way.