Some people get into debt by buying things they don't need and can't afford. What are the reasons for this behaviour? What action can be taken to prevent people from having this problem?

Nowadays we are living in a society based on consuming. As a result, some people have problems in dealing with this budget and they get into debt by buying things they don't need and can't afford. This kind of behaviour is encountered quite often in our present days, mainly because of the possibility of buying goods in leasing. Hence, people buy most of the good using the credit card without having a clear idea on how much money they possess or they owe. Also, another cause for this behaviour could be psychological. The advertisement and the subliminal messages one encounters in a regular day in a big city has an enormous impact on one's brain. the main problem is the lack of awareness of the serious effects that advertisements can have on people. In order to prevent people from adopting this dangerous behaviour, measures should be taken so as to raise awareness among people. Also, one must learn how to manage his budget in order to get a balance between necessity and pleasure. Keeping a record on income and monthly spendings would be very helpful and would give to the consumer an overall image on how his budget should be spent. All summed up, the chances of becoming a victim of the consumer's society are high nowadays due to the surrounding temptations but this problem could be easily avoided by being aware of this dangers and having a rational attitude when dealing with money.