Rich countries often give money to poorer countries, but it does not solve poverty. Therefore, developed countries should give other types of help to the poor countries rather than financial aid. What other kinds of aid could be provided?

​​​​​​ Rich countries often give money to poorer countries, but it does not solve poverty. Therefore, developed countries should give other types of help to the poor countries rather than financial aid. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other kinds of aid could be provided. With the wealth gap gradually widening, prosperous countries often make financial donations as aid to poorer ones. However, many argue that this approach is not necessarily the most effective for alleviating poverty. I concur with that, and I firmly believe that giving money is not the only way to help poor nations. To being with, the phenomenal failure of money donations is often attributed to poor management of that aid. Firstly, as a result of corruption, the money may not reach the people who most need it. In other words, there would be some people taking that money for personal use. In fact, it is quite common for international aid money to end up in the pockets of the political elite in such countries. Thus, overseas financial donations can actually lead to increased corruption instead of helping the poor people of those countries. Secondly, money is only capable of solving temporary problems, but longer-term ones like famine which last long are difficult to tackle by this kind of approach. So in the long run, financial donations are not as effective as other long-term investments. Instead of donating money, the rich countries can adopt different measures to help the poorer ones. First, they can provide advanced technology to poor countries to help them improve productivity. This can lead to economic growth and alleviate social problems such as poverty in a sustainable way. Second, developed countries can provide professional training to raise the skill levels of the workforce in poorer ones. To be clearer, if workers in poor countries have the necessary up-to-date knowledge and skills in their fields, they will remain competitive and productive. Therefore, investment in technology and training in poor countries would be a much better kind of aid. In conclusion, donating money is not the best way for the rich countries to help the poorer ones. It can lead to corruption and it is not as good as long-term investments in training and technology.