English is one of the most spoken languages in the world and the main cause is the development of tourism

English is one of the most spoken languages in the world and the main cause is the development of tourism. There is the thought that it will be the only language spoken around internationally, easing the communication between countries but also diminishing the cultural backgrounds. Different causes have made of English the most popular language globally, being tourism the main one. Travelling abroad is something that only wealthy people can afford to do and most of them are from countries where English is their mother tongue like the United States and the United Kingdom. Obviously, if everyone spoke the same language the communications between communities would be much easier. For instance, it could facilitate the commerce between the tourists and the locals and it would help the vendors to attract more clients. It might be also useful to avoid misunderstandings brought about by cultural differences. In my opinion, there are many advantages of having one way to communicate to every person around the world but it goes without saying that it brings some disadvantages as well. There is no doubt that if English increases, the local languages diminish leaving behind all the cultural traits that a language has itself. Moreover, the easier it is to communicate, the more similar will be all the countries around the world leading to a loss of traditions and contributing to globalisation. In conclusion, English is becoming the key to worldwide communication. Although it facilitates the understanding between communities, it also provoques a deprivation of cultural heritage leading to a uniform world.