Restricting the use of mobile phones in schools

Mobile phones have become a major part of a student’s life at present. However, using mobile devices have been banned in some schools. In my view, restrictions on the use of mobile phones by students at their place of schooling is a beneficial approach overall, since it would have positive consequences on a student’s academic, social and physical well-being. Restricting phone use in school can itself improve learning of a student. Because this would assist the student to increase their focus and attention on the work before them. For example, students will be able to concentrate on the study content rather than keep constant check on their phone. This would have a deep impact on the student’s learning ability, since it would reduce their attention span as well as push them to be more involved in the irrelevant things in life. Therefore, phones should be restricted in order to ensure that students keep their focus on their studies and what is more important at this stage of their lives. Social and physical well-being of a student can also be secured if schools restricted the use of phones in school. This would be so, because it will allow students to be more engaged in physical activities and be more aware about their social surroundings. For example, participating in games and sports as well as joining clubs and student committees can increase a student’s involvement of social and physical activities in school, without being a slave to the phones. In a digital era, human interaction is considered of utmost importance, which would benefit the student even after graduating from school. Hence, having rules over the restrictions over mobile phones can be beneficial in gaining a good standard of overall well-bing of a student, both socially and physically. In conclusion, schools have restricted the use of phones by students based on good solid reasons. Considering the academic, social and physical well-being of a student, the use of mobile phones can act as a hinderance for the development process of a student. Based on all these facts, it is of my opinion that limiting the influence of phones on a student’s school life, can have positive attributes related to it.