“The internet is making society smarter. ”

The internet has changed our lives in many ways. We use it for work and in our daily life. While the internet has made us much more productive, some people argue it has also made us smarter. However, I disagree with this position. Those who believe the internet has made society smart cite several reasons. To begin with, they believe that more access to information means that we know more and this makes us smarter. In addition, through faster communication, we can access information faster, and information is power. Furthermore, through connecting to the world via the internet we have more ideas and opportunities that were unimaginable in the past. All of this leads to smarter, more connected, and more rounded people. However, I take exception to every one of those points. First of all, access to more information doesn’t make you smarter. Most people rely on the convenience of Google and Wikipedia and as a result, don’t remember information. Innovation and creative thoughts start in the mind, and without this resource, you can’t be creative. What is worse is that now, most communication is now done through short soundbites and messaging apps, we are losing the art of empathy and effective communication, and with sources that are trying to trigger us, like news sites on social media, we as a society are actually regressing in many ways, becoming more tribal and losing skills such as critical thinking, openness, and being accepting of new ideas. To sum up, the internet has helped society in many ways. However, this does mean we are more intelligent. By outsourcing so much of our lives to the internet, I would argue that we are getting dumber. I hope that in the future, we take more opportunities to unplug and really experience life.