Researching and treating diseases is too costly so it would be better to invest in preventative measures. To what extent do you agree

There is a proverb saying that prevention is better than cure. Accordingly, it is considered to be more preferable to invest in preventative measure than to invest in conducting research and treating diseases which are more expensive. In my opinion, I agree with this statement, but with some notes. In this regard, I believe that both measures could be done simultaneously without putting pressure on budget. Firstly, preventative measures are indeed cheaper. However, there are some situations where preventative ones are ineffective and thus, they need to be supplemented by investment in researching, studying and treating diseases. For instance, in the case of COVID-19 pandemics, at the outset of the outbreak, government promulgated several instructions to check any passengers arriving in Indonesia from overseas in every airport to prevent the imported COVID-19 cases. However, we now realise that neither is the preventative measure proven effective nor efficient since the are many borders in Indonesia being left unwatched. In this respect, safeguarding every border in Indonesia is extremely costly. Secondly, conducting research and study to find out the way to cure the diseases can be less expensive if from the beginning, government supports the funding of universities to conduct research in the area of disease study. By providing sufficient funding, universities can use the fund to improve its capacity and to incentivise them in conducting innovative research for diseases. Moreover, the funding may also be allocated to build university hospitals. In this perspective, I believe that having routine funding will not be burdensome for government budget compared to having to fund research amid this pandemic situation without any proper infrastructure and resources for the research and treatment. All in all, having a proper mechanism to prevent diseases is important. Nevertheless, the availability of research and treatment diseases for particular diseases is also fundamental because there are circumstances where preventative actions are ineffective.