Researches in genetics shoukd be banned

Scientific discoveries significantly affect our lives, and some experiments may have either strong positive or negative consequences on our society. Personally, I believe that genetic engineering should not be prohibited. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay. To begin with, technological breakthroughs can save millions. Сontemporary medicine is able to treat many diseases due to the innovations in pharmacy and surgery. It is obvious all of this is possible because of the successfully conducted researches. So experimenting in genetic engineering, scientists can find cures for many diseases, while banning would lead to industry stagnation. Today, a lot of people still suffer from different medical conditions, that significantly affect the quality of life, or are even fatal. Scientists can find answers to these problems. A relevant example is the fact that every year a lot of people die from different types of cancer, and by finding how to successfully change the DNA of the patients we can cure all mutations. In addition, completely banning all possible examinations is not the best approach to the unknown. I agree that there must be serious regulations in genetic field of study, scientists should not be allowed to create clones or change human genome any time they want, because it is unethical. Nevertheless, the scientific community cannot simply ignore such a significant part of our life, and rather should gradually, step by step, try to advance and learn more about it. Start with simple organism, move on to multicellular only after a long examination and so on. Moreover, knowledge is the key that helps to distinguish between what is ethical and what is not. No scientific, solid knowledge can be acquired without investigations. In conclusion, I certainly believe that research in genetic engineering should be restricted, but not banned. Researchers should become more knowledgeable about this topic because it can fundamentally change our lives for the better