It has been argued that fast food corporations are responsible for the damage their products do to people’s health. Others feel that fast food giants are not responsible for the choices of their customers.

Some people believe that fast food giants should be held responsible for the health problems created by their products. However, I would argue that their customers are responsible for their own choices. There are several reasons why some would argue that fast food companies are responsible for the harmful effects of their products. One argument is that these giants are aware that their food causes health problems. Companies who create products high in fat, salt and sugar have clearly designed their products in a way that is addictive. People also point out that other industries have been held accountable for harmful products. For example, Purdue Pharmaceuticals, an American drug company, was recently held liable for the deaths of many Americans due to their promotion of oxycontin and other addictive opiates. However, it is not fast food giants’ fault that their products are abused. Unlike past abuses of products like cigarettes and opiates, people are well aware of the health risks associated with excessive consumption of fast foods. No reasonable person could say that they have been tricked into eating quantities of fast food that have made them obese. Another point to keep in mind is that these fast food chains almost always provide healthy alternatives as a part of their menu as there are usually low-calorie wraps at McDonalds that can be purchased with sugar-free soft drinks. In conclusion, while fast food chains are aware that their products are not healthy and comparable products have been held responsible in the past, individuals are ultimately responsible for the amount of fast food that is eaten due to their knowledge of this food and the healthy options provided by restaurants.