Research suggests that majority of criminals who are sent to prison would commit crimes when set free. What are the reasons? What can be done to solve the problem?

Researchers are of the view that many inmates will reoffend after their release from prison. This arises due to the negative influence of other prisoners and the lack of vocational skills. This essay will propose two promising solutions to this problem. Perhaps the most important reason for reoffending of criminals is the effects of corrupting influences while they were behind bars. Prisons house different types of criminal and many are often allow to interract with each other. As a result, some hardened criminals can easily influence others to commit crime after their release. They may link them up with their associates outside bar who will reintroduce the released criminals to crimes. For example, the surge in drug associated crimes in Nigeria have been attributed to introductions of inmates to drugs while in prison. Thus, such criminals easily return to crime. Another key factor is the lack of vocational skills by inmates. Most of them lack the education, experience or skills needed for employment. Thus, they often find it challenging to be gainfully employed and commit crimes again after completing their terms in prisons. Fortunately, however, there are two promising solutions to this problem. Firstly, prisoners should be separated in prisons based on the type of crime they commit. For instance, young and first time offenders should not be mixed with hardened criminal while in prison so as to reduce the chances of been introduced back to crime. Secondly, prisons should be a rehabilitation center where lawbreakers are educated and trained to develop useful skills that would make them employable after their release from prisons. As a consequence, they would be able to earn a livelihood after prison. In conclusions, some criminals commit crime after their release from bars owing to the negative influences they are exposed to while in prison and due to the lack of skills. The separation of innates based on their crimes and the training of criminals would help reduce cases of lawbreakers commiting crise after been released from prisons.