Research on space needs a huge monetary investment.

Research on space needs a huge monetary investment. Even though space exploration provides an expectation of the possibility of life elsewhere than on earth, it is not justifiable that billions of dollars are spent on the research while people are still dying of poverty and treatable diseases on our planet. It should be better spent on addressing these problems. The greatest minds of the world work day and night and spend a fortune machinery to discover clues which may lead to a deeper understanding of the space. Research, undoubtedly, is the way to progress and discover new things. However, the world around us is filled with problems of poverty and infectious diseases. To illustrate, World Health Organisation published the demographic data in 2016 AD that 77% of the world population is under the poverty line. In addition, the under-five mortality rate was 46% and the major cause of death was acute gastroenteritis which is a treatable infectious disease. While people are dying or living in extreme conditions on our planet, it is absolutely not justified that scarce financial resources be spent on space research that who knows may need centuries. Furthermore, it is not definite that research will yield any desirable results. In my opinion, the funds could be better spent on existing world problems. Firstly, poverty demands an immediate action. Millions of people around the world who are living with minimum food and little clothing must be adequately supported. For example, instead of financing space exploration, governments should support NGOs like ‘Aamako Ghar’ in Nepal which provide shelter for the needy and also teache them handicraft work through which they can earn a livelihood. Secondly, no human should die due to simple and treatable diseases such as acute gastroenteritis. The goal to minimize infectious diseases is not unachievable if enough funds and manpower is are invested. The world leaders must direct their attention and money towards eradicating the disease by diverting funds from extra-terrestrial research to mundane human problems. In conclusion, if governments divert billions of dollars from space research programs to everyday human problems, the world will be a more socially peaceful and economically prosperous place to live.