Some people think that maintaining public libraries is a waste of public money since a computer system can replace their function.

Information technologies have developed at an unprecedented pace nowadays, and some argue that it is pointless to support/maintain public libraries since their functions are increasingly being fulfilled by computers. In my view, while using laptops can make research easier and more interesting, state libraries are worth investing in / worth the investment because of the important role they play in this modern world. On the one hand, To begin with, It is true that computers can sometimes do a better job than the traditional library in dispensing information and engaging learners. Through the internet, people can access information in a variety of means such as through online newspaper, blogs, or video clips, and the way to do so can be as straightforward as a single click on the mouse. Furthermore, compared to reading printed text/books/magazines which might seem comparatively boring, it is more intriguing and engaging for most people to surf the internet and watch programs such as BBC online documentaries to acquire the knowledge they need. On the other hand, However, despite these benefits brought by computers, I believe that traditional way of book collection still occupy an irreplaceable place in people’s lives. Firstly, as all the books and magazines in the library are published by professional houses, their reliability and authoritativeness are guaranteed. It, therefore, reduces the possibility of people getting misguided by false information. In addition, public libraries generally have a sufficient budget provided by the government so that they can invite experts to give lectures. This approach allows visitors to gain deep insights into a certain specialized field, which can hardly be achieved by merely using a digital platform on one’s own. For instance, students can study in libraries while their exams because it is a quiet and peaceful place. In conclusion, digital technology has made information research more accessible and enjoyable, but I believe that state-funded libraries are still of great value for citizens to obtain reliable and quality content. Consequently, they deserve to continue to exist and to receive a stable subsidy from the authority.