requesting personal information from job applicants by the employers

Employers sometimes do ask for personal information from prospective employees. An employer may require to study and evaluate the personal details of an applicant, in addition to his educational or professional experiences, to decide whether they would have any impact on the role of the prospective employee has to play in their organization. hobbies and interests of a person, do reflect a person's general character and attitudes. Some jobs require confidentially, the ability to work late hours on most of the days or visit outstations often. some jobs require to work with many others, as a group or maybe with a wide range of customers. on the other hand, one may ask why the personal information of employee are required. For example, if the Education and Professional experiences are suitable enough for a particular job and if they could perform the required tasks efficiently, what would be the need to reveal personal information? In their opinion, the marital status, number, and age of children, a religion practiced, race, whether a person interested in sports, music, film, gardening, etc. , have no connection and got nothing to do with the job that has to be performed. Some people do think seriously about their privacy and they do not wish to disclose them. One of the greatest fears some people have is information they consider personal or sensitive, being shared with others they do not want to be shared with. My opinion is that certain personal information of an employee would be useful to the employer, for them to access whether the person is fit enough to handle unforeseen or stressful situations that may arise from time to time, but may be directly connected with the list of official duties. Some hobbies and interests may clash with the scope of work expected to be handled by an employee. If the person has too many friends, he may find it difficult to maintain the confidentiality required, in a certain type of job. If the job is very stressful, the employee should have free time or space at home to relieve it relax. I always think that the happiness of an employee increases productivity and therefore, an employer needs to know the likes, dislikes, interests, etc. , to access whether a prospective employee could handle the heavy workload, while keeping a cool head and remaining calm.