Reports show that it is increasingly expensive to keep museums open to the public. What is the best way to fund them? Government, business or individuals?

These days, museum is at the heart of communities, preserving essential local and national stories, which rewards visitors with fresh ideas. However, over the past years, one museum after another across the country has cut back on their business hours, staff and their salaries since it is increasingly expensive to fund them and maintain them accessible to the general public. Therefore, whether the funding comes from the government or other sources is controversial First and foremost, the financial help contributed by government is well-managed and it is stable. Since the government pay money for some professional workers on running museums, the management of the fund is naturally well-organized. Also, because the tax is a abundant resource of income, the help for museums will not stop easily. A successful case in point is Los Angeles County Museum of Art in the United States. In the past decade, it drew significant authorities to invest approximately 1 million dollars per year, which makes it the most popular museum in California. If the government fails to spend enough money on the Los Angeles County Museum of Art, the popularity of it may decline. Admittedly, some largest and most prestigious art museums are likely to draw support from the authorities or large cooperations by producing more blockbuster exhibitions. However, fiscal pressures on those especially smaller and mid-sized institutions is increasingly competitive and important. In response to the problem, a variety of means to raise revenues at museums are through attracting their potential customers by holding exhibitions and cultural activities. Besides, board members from large cooperations are typically prominent individuals of communities and have access to other prominent community members who tend to be significant donors. In conclusion, museums are spending more on fundraising efforts than in previous years. The availability of funds from official bodies are therefore more likely to be stable, however, smaller museums might turn to their communities or potential customers.