Religion has been codified in the profession as a whole because of excesses of corporate greed

Religious discussions are very complicated for the sociologists who work on them. For this reason, sociologists divide their theories into three categories such as intellectualist, functionalist and rationalist. In fact, it does not mean that there are no definition categories apart from the ones discussed above. Some sociologists do not agree with some ideas of Durkheim, Weber and Marx. They want to discuss categories in comparison with each other or they define religion in their own ways. In the history of sociological theory, Marx, Durkheim and Weber have an important place because of their in-depth researches about religion. They have also developed a sociological terminology about religion in addition to their definitions on religion. Any definitions about religion, needless to say, make a contribution to the sociology of religion. In addition, it paves the way for new discussions in the field of sociology in a sense. Every discussion makes a significant contribution to the development of the sociology of religion. Although a lot of sociologists reject that religion is not a subject matter of sociology because of ideology or anything else which prevents them from studying religion. Indeed, religion is acknowledged by some sociologists as an institution like family, economics, politics and education.