Reducing global environmental damage should be handled by the government rather than individuals

It is not hard to find natural degradation nowadays. Damages such as deforestation, plastic, and air pollution are all caused by mankind. However, when it comes to the question of who is the appropriate body that should take action against these issues, people point fingers at either the government or themselves. While there are plausible views from the contrary view, I will argue that it is better for the authority to take default responsibility in this case. Firstly, devastation to the environment is not an easy problem to solve, and most individuals do not have the knowledge or the willingness to take action. For example, in the case of global warming- we did believe we had the chance to stop it but as time went by with only a few activists trying to warn the others, we are now too late to completely end global warming. In Europe and North America, environmental activists started to warn the public of there being only “12 more years remaining to save the future”. The idea of “time running out” is now gaining increasing salience. Contrasting this view, responsibility for solving the problem of environmental damage should come mainly from the government due to the fact the authority to create, pass and implement laws to be followed by the public are all controlled by them. For instance, Japan has a modal shift in national policy to invest more in pollution control technology and educating both the public and business communities. If the government will not strictly impose these kinds of laws, individuals will not feel responsible to take action in reducing activities that lead to environmental pollution. To conclude, I believe that the role of the government is vital to reduce environmental harm by implementing nature-friendly laws and educating their residents. As much as being aware of the damages we are causing is an appreciable factor for us individuals, it is not enough, and we are not taking action collectively. However, It is hoped that we can save our future before it is too late.