Should sugary foods and drinks be more expensive?

Numerous products cause health problem nowadays, which contains high-level of sugars making some people believe that the prices should increase for the benefit of the majority. In my opinion, health should always come first before one’s satisfaction specifically in sugary foods and drinks. Therefore, I agree that it should be more expensive. It will not only encourage people to lessen their consumption of unhealthy foods, but it will also help prevent illnesses and promote a healthy lifestyle. People often consume sugary foods and drinks, because of the satisfaction they get in it. However, it may result to serious consequences in one’s health. Increasing the prices of these types of products will motivate consumers to purchase less of it. It is because people tend to think more wisely when the price of the product is high. Soda in the United Arab Emirates, for instance, has an added tax when you buy it making it more expensive, therefore, there is a less demand for it. Increasing the prices of these type of products will also encourage the majority to shift in a healthier lifestyle, which then makes the entire community less prone to catching diseases and other forms of sickness. Due to it, several people turn to different alternatives to satisfy their cravings and sweet tooth making them consume food and drinks that have the necessary nutrients that an individual’s body need. An example of it is fruits, which are healthy substitutes to candies. For these reasons, people start changing their way of living into a healthier one. To conclude, the production of sugary food and drinks cannot be stopped, however, the consumption of these products can be decreased through an increase in the prices. It is my belief that these products should have higher prices, because it helps the buyers to make a more informed decision. Nevertheless, eating and drinking less junk sugary foods will not only keep a person healthy but will also make one’s life longer and better.