Red Dragon - Situation Analysis

Universal Robina Corporation company (URC) is a pioneer in manufacturing and selling bottled drinks and snacks in the Philippines. Red Dragon energy drink is one of the company's products and has been introduced to the Vietnamese beverage market by URC Vietnam and the URC Hanoi branches. Red Dragon has become a strong competitor with other brands such as Sting, Number 1, Warrior. By having similar refresh flavors, cooling tastes seem to be a small part of becoming threats to other brands. However, Red Dragon has a variety of categories in size and convenient packaging that takes a vital role in marketing and attracting customers. Dream Incubator Inc indicated their study about Vietnam energy drinks by online survey. Red Dragon is stated as the one that has a high rate of satisfaction among other brands. In general recognition, the Red Dragon advertisement often appears on TV and in-store, which directly attracts the customers. However, Red Dragon only rated 63% of the awareness and 4% of usage. That was a huge gap between the 3 others on top because Sting has the highest awareness rate with 84%, and Redbull gained 42% of the usage. Even Number 1 has a near rate in awareness to Sting that 81%. Despite the above data, there are still a variety of reasons that stand out compared to others. Number 1 has 128 observers which 67% choose the drink because of its delicious taste. While Red Dragon, leading ahead with the good distribution reason 58% and followed up 55% of the reasonable price within 31 observers (DI Marketing, 2015).