It is argued that university education should be free for all people.

Education plays an integral role in the success of a person. Going to university and earning a degree after graduation may completely transform a person's life. One of the most contentious issues today relates to whether college tuition costs should be funded by the Government, or should individual pupils finance their higher education. In my opinion, I completely agree that higher education should be free for everyone because it will provide learning chances for students who cannot pay tuition fees and it will underline to educational institutions that their job is to teach students. The main reason why I agree that higher education should be free for everybody is because it will create learning opportunities for students who cannot afford the tuition fees. If all students are compelled to pay, low-income students may be discouraged from attending, making the system unequal. Eurydice (2000) as cited in Biffl et al. (2002), they claimd that in several European countries, the argument for free higher education is based on the idea of "fair access, " which means that people with sufficient ability should not be prevented from enrolling in university due to financial constraints (p. 435). In addition, Bray et al. (2013) reported that students from middle- and upper-income families are far more likely to pursue higher education than students from low-income households. The reason for this is that they will most likely be unable to obtain financial assistance from their family, and they will be apprehensive about the debts they will incur in the future. Therefore, the government should provide financial support so that poor students can continue their path to success. Another reason why I support that notion is due to it will emphasize to educational institutions that their job is to educate students. Today, private schools and private universities only give priority to upgrading facilities and improving the school's image, making the quality of teaching increasingly degraded. Samuels (2013) reported that universities have begun to function as massive investment banks, diverting funds away from teaching and lowering its quality. According to Cortese and Hattan (2010), the mission of universities and colleges is to educate students as well as prepare them for future employment. Therefore, the main responsibility of the training institutions is to teach and train the students, not the place of investment and profit. Opponents of university education should be free for all people argued that teaching institutions will not have money to invest in equipment. Educational institutions should be refurbished and renewed with equipment to serve students in learning, but if tuition fees are waived by the government, those devices will forever be outdated and not meet the needs of students. Nguyen et al. (2020) mentioned that other nations' flexible tuition policies assist them in improving teaching quality, covering school expansion expenses, improving advanced curriculum, and updating current equipment (p. 12). However, there is no denying the positive aspects that the 100% tuition fee waiver brings to students and their families, so the government should have reasonable policies to help students. In conclusion, higher education should be free for everybody because of the benefits it provides, such as providing chances for students of all classes to study and allowing universities to focus more on their fundamental goal of educating students. Hence, the government should take immediate steps to promote free education and eliminate exploitative systems such as capitation admissions. After all, a well-educated people is a country's most valuable asset.