Company Analysis Universal Robina Corporation

Universal Robina Corporation company (URC) is a pioneer in manufacturing and selling bottled drinks and snacks in the Philippines. Red Dragon energy drink is one of the company's products and has been introduced to the Vietnamese beverage market by URC Vietnam and the URC Hanoi branches. Red Dragon has become a strong competitor with other brands such as Sting, Number 1, Warrior. By having similar refresh flavors, cooling tastes seem to be a small part of becoming threats to other brands. However, Red Dragon has a variety of categories in size and convenient packaging that takes a vital role in marketing and attracting customers. Dream Incubator Inc indicated their study about Vietnam energy drinks by online survey. Red Dragon is stated as the one that has a high rate of satisfaction among other brands. In general recognition, the Red Dragon advertisement often appears on TV and in-store, which directly attracts the customers. However, Red Dragon only rated 63% of the awareness and 4% of usage. That was a huge gap between the 3 others on top because Sting has the highest awareness rate with 84%, and Redbull gained 42% of the usage. Even Number 1 has a near rate in awareness to Sting that 81%. Despite the above data, there are still a variety of reasons that stand out compared to others. Number 1 has 128 observers which 67% choose the drink because of its delicious taste. While Red Dragon, leading ahead with the good distribution reason 58% and followed up 55% of the reasonable price within 31 observers (DI Marketing, 2015). Universal Robina Corporation is based in the Philippines, one of the potential food and beverage industries. However, the company has hit on its strengths through domestically leading the market, diversified product portfolio, and they also suffered its weaknesses from revenues of geographical concentration, high debt issue. URC dominantly takes the leading position in the Philippines market to most of their products in the category with snacks. The company first launched Chiz Curls and Chippy affirming its reputation in the snack industry. Significantly, the company is dominant in snacks, sweets, pastry, and RTD tea has become a great player in the tea market in the Philippines. URC also expands its business scope to other countries such as Malaysia, Thailand, Vietnam, Indonesia, Hong Kong, Singapore. Surprisingly, URC maintains the top rating positions of the countries every year. URC's products are marketed under famous brands like Swiss Miss, Nissin’s Cup, Nova, Chippy, Hunt’s, Quake Bars, Maxx, Yi Yang, Jack n’ Jill, and C2. The company is less affected due to its diversified product portfolio. Both beverage and food sections include snacks, already-drink tea, blended coffee, soft drinks, bottled water, pastry, cookies, etc. The packaging appears and divides into Bi-axially Oriented Polypropylene (BOPP) films, attracting customer sight and convenient usage. In addition, URC takes part in manufacturing animals food brands, animal health products which are separated into the Argo-industrial group. Universal Robina Corporation is the first multinational company that leads the top listed in the food industry in the Philippines and strongly presences in ASEAN. Recently, URC has expanded its position to New Zealand and Australia. However, it seems that broadening the company to foreign countries causes poorly in operating performance and financial. According to the FY2015 – Annual finacial statement, domestic operations accounted for 69. 6% of total revenue while overseas operations such as foreign branches only accounted for 30. 4% of total revenue. Considering the company's reliance on limited regions may restrict future revenue growth and foreign segment. (URC, 2015). URC always receives mixed reviews about investments. With a history of more than 50 years and being at the top of the food industry with classic products in the hearts of Filipinos as well as foreign people such as C2, Red Dragon, Cream O - Jack 'n Jill, . . . , large branches distributing ASEAN countries (Dungo, 2019). This is enough to convince investors. However, based on the 2016 annual financial report (URC, 2017), the company has a high debt of PHP 42, 697. 5 million, an increase of 56. 2% compared to 2015. URC debt has being affected domestic and foreign operations, mobilizing capital becomes more difficult. This has limited the company in attracting investment.