Recycling waste from home

Waste has been a serious worldwide problem for years. The consumption pattern that is not followed by responsible behavior has created a critical damage for the environment. Waste is not a problem of several persons or groups, it is a collective problem, thus it should be solved by doing collective change. Hence, the role of the government, private sectors, communities, other institutions, including individual is crucial. The simplest change can be made from our hands, our home. The current level of household waste that is recycled is still low. We still can boost the numbers by recycling our household waste, but, it needs a behavior change from every individual. There are so many ways that can be used to drive a person to change the behavior. The first step is by raising the awareness that small contribution matters and every single step is important, including by segregating, composting, and recycling waste from home. Unfortunately, raising awareness is not enough. In order to maximize the implementation of recycling waste, it needs a ‘dictating change’ from the government. Law enforcement is one of the ways that can be used. The regulation should be made by the government to enable the ecosystem. For example, the scheme of incentive and disincentive is also possible to be implemented in addition by the regulation of recycling household waste. Based on the survey conducted, people tends to respond to incentives and disincentives once the regulation is already made. By the time, the behavior of people can changed and it can lead to increase the percentage of recycled household waste. In my opinion, law is very important aspect that can support the creation of new environment, in this case, is the recycling behavior.