RECYCLING WASTE FROM HOME

Waste has been a serious worldwide problem for years. The consumption pattern that is not followed by responsible behaviour has created critical damage to the environment. Waste is not a problem of several persons or groups. It is a collective problem. Thus it should be solved by doing collective change. Hence, the government, private sectors, communities, other institutions, including individuals, is crucial. The simplest change can be made from our hands, our home. The current level of household waste that is recycled is still low. We still can boost the numbers by recycling our household waste, but every individual needs a behaviour change. There are so many ways that can be used to drive a person to change their behaviour. The first step is by raising the awareness that small contribution matters and every step is important, including segregating, composting, and recycling waste from home. Unfortunately, raising awareness is not enough. To maximize the implementation of recycling waste, it needs a 'dictating change' from the government. Law enforcement is one of the ways that can be used. The government should make the regulation to enable the ecosystem. For example, the scheme of incentive and disincentive is also possible to be implemented by the regulation of recycling household waste. Based on the survey, people tend to respond to incentives and disincentives once the regulation is made. Over time, people's behaviour can change, and it can lead to an increase in the percentage of recycled household waste. In my opinion, the law is a very important aspect that can support creating a new environment, in this case, is the recycling behaviour.