Recommend what present to buy for a 19-year-old student.

I believe that a perfect gift is a gift that both entertains and educates the recipient, and such a gift could only come in the form of a book. Therefore, I would recommend a book called “Essays in love” by Alain de Botton, a philosopher who attempts to address the matters of love by using anecdotes. To begin with, the book aims to help readers understand the definition of love and its many facets such as sexual intercourse, jealousy, and betrayal so as to gain experiences and become an all-rounded lover. On the first page of this book, the author tells a story about a man meeting a woman in the most ordinary setting, the airport. As the story evolves, these two characters spend more time together, knowing each other, and advancing towards an official relationship, as most romantic books do. But, what differs Alain de Botton from other authors is that he digs deeper into the psychology behind lovers’ minds and examines it using the brain of a philosopher. For example, Alain talks about Marxism in terms of love, where a boy has feelings of inferiority to the girl whom he is pursuing because he may not be as handsome or as rich as the other boys. But, when that girl accepts his love, the boy shows contempt and disrespect towards his lover. At first, I found it strange for that boy to behave likewise, but Alain states that the hatred of that boy towards the girl stems from his own hatred towards himself. Therefore, Alain recommends that today’s teenagers or anyone from different generations should love themselves first then proceed to love the other so as not to show unnecessary disrespect for their beloved ones. And, because of one of these many lessons from Alain de Botton, I would recommend this book to anyone who is just starting to enter the adult world and especially for those who feel lost and in great need of romantic advice.