Recently, some people urge to remove theoretical subjects like economics, sociology, law, etc from university education. They ask students to take practical subjects like engineering, computer programming, etc. Do u agree or disagree with the statement?

In recent times, there is a surge of studying practical subjects including computer programming, engineering, etc. Although, current technological advancement has uprisen the demand for these subjects the necessity of theoretical subjects such as mathematics, philosophy and economics is not less than it was before. There are people for both sides. Some think that theory based subjects are still relevant in these days. Other people think that subjects providing practical knowledge should be studied only. I do not agree with the statement. Firstly, the goal of university education is not just to make professionals according to market demand. Universities should teach subjects of every field. They have to teach social science, science, technology etc not considering the trend in the job market. Moreover, subjects, which are based on theory, teach us moral values that practical subjects don’t. For example, University of Dhaka is considering increasing seats in social science and biology related subjects. Theory based subjects still have the appeal to be studied. We can learn a lot of life related teachings from these subjects. Secondly, practical subjects teach students only the application of engineering tools that do not require understanding people mind, thoughts, moral, and ideas. Our life is not just obsessed with machinery that our focus should be only on engineering. We should learn philosophy too to understand complex issues of our life. Therefore, theoretical subjects should not be lifted up from university education and students should not only be motivated to study computer programming or other engineering subjects at universities. So, I disagree with the statement.