Recently, some office workers have begun to work from home instead of commuting to an office each day, and this idea is growing in popylarity. What, in your opinion, are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend of working from home?

In recent years, there are an increasing number of people who opt to work from the comfort of home instead of working from the office. This essay will firstly demonstrate that balancing personal life and career is the primary advantage, followed by a discussion of how it can sometimes lead to a higher risk of missing out on promotion opportunities. To begin with, working at home offers a variety of convenience and sense of freedom, which is considered as a good condition to promote themselves. This flexibility stems from the fact that they don’t need to follow the rules of the office environment about clothes, manners, schedules, or venue, which leads to a greater efficiency and more innovative productivity. Meanwhile, employees tend to have more time to take care of the family as well as enjoy their life. For example, recently research showed that workers can save nearly a fifth of their income for other life demands. Having said that, It can be a lack of professionalism and missed chances of progression when people spend too much time working alone. Since there is no direct supervision, it is possible that they can be distracted, and lack focus on work goals. And if not consistent, they are likely to suffer from not dividing time properly between organisations and personal tasks, or falling into a state of endless work, inappropriate rest time. As a result, they will not be able to achieve positive results at work while their health, work style and discipline decline and lose the trust of their boss. In conclusion, although there are pros and cons in allowing staff working at home, I strongly believe that the drawbacks outweigh the benefits and the companies should consider this issue carefully and propose adequate strategies.