Recent studies have shown that overweight people trend to eat junk food that are high in unhealthy fats. Some people argue that an increase in price of such foods will serve as a deterrent and thus reduce the number of overweight people. Do you agree and disagree?

In this modern and cut throat competitive world, people have altered themselves to work, round the clock. This new life style has given rise to a number of health problems and amongst these obesity is considered to be the most fatal one. This is thought to be increasing due to consumption of fast food. So to hold the fist in this problem, rise in price is suggested. But I think, this is not the pragmatic solution due to a lot of reasons. Firstly, the people who are habitual of eating fast food will not change their taste because old habits die hard. A person who has accustomed himself to a particular eating habit will not be able to resist himself as his body will demand these. Moreover, daily intakers will not care about the price because their taste and satisfaction matter a lot. This can be easily justified by taking an example of fuel price in India. Today, a liter of petrol costs about Rs 90 but this deep hole in pockets is not bothering people as driving their own private vehicle has become their life style and is considered no more a luxury but a need. Further, it is scientifically proven that obesity is not because of fast food but can be caused by the genetic problems. As it is often observed that a kid of obese parents often overweighs. Finally, these junk foods restaurants are supporting millions of families because this industry has given work to myriad waiters, chefs and managers. Expensive food stuff will bring darker era in this industry and will make many jobless. At the tip of iceberg, increase in price of any commodity of a man is not the right solution. Increased rates of junk food will not stop people from purchasing these but can create a rage in them against government as for them, it may be a restriction on their freedom right. Authorities need to promote healthy lifestyle in order to make people fit and fine.