To what extent do the benefits of information technology outweigh the disadvantages?

Some people may think that information technology is an important issue of today's life and that it affects in all parts of it or even that it rules above our own control. I think that we can handle the technology of information in order to take the greatest profit of it. Alongside the years technology has given people the opportunity of being updated with the last news from all over the world and with lots of information about hundred of topics that you can find easily, but there is also a dark side of having easy access to so many sources of information, one them is that you can be exposed to other people's lies and to hoaxes in which case you are going to have the wrong informatión and might take wrong choices if you trust and take desitions based on it. On the other side having the opportunity of being updated with the last news and having access to so much information is a privilege that people in the past did not have. Nowadays it is easy to turn on our computers and connect to internet and there we will find many different sources were we can get information from and it is fast and free. If you want to look up for any specific topic, If you want to know the breaking news from another country or even if you want to know about your relatives or friends, all this information is easy to find, cheap to use, quickly to get and you can even do it from the confort of your bed, and if you want to make sure that the information you get is reliable you could compare among the sources and resources were you found the information and see wich themes appear in all of them and wich don't. I think technology is here to make our life easier and not to make it more complicated, is just a matter of making a responsible and conciously use of all tools that we were given.