Recent research has confirmed that human activity has become the greatest threat to plant and animal life Why do you think this has happened How can we reduce our impact on the natural world

These days, there are many environmental issues on our planet. While some people argue that the major problem is the loss of the flora and the fauna, others believe that there are far more significant environmental problems. There are valid views on both sides, which I will discuss now. On the one hand, there is substantial loss of many plant and animal species throughout the world. These species are crucial to maintain a balance within the ecosystem. Without them, the ecosystem is disturbed with devastating effects on all living and non-living things which are interdependent. For example, plants are the producers of food in nature and without them, survival of many species which usually depend on them will be threatened. It is also worth noting that plants and animals are important for water and air purification as well as flood control. Furthermore, there is an increasing number of endangered animals nowadays and even some have become extinct such as the Hawaiian snail which is the last group of animal recorded to have disappeared from the Earth’s surface. On the other hand, another important environmental problem we are facing today is global warming. With the increase in temperature due to excessive carbon dioxide emission, ice bergs are melting at a much faster rate resulting in a rise in sea levels which threatens the disappearance of low lying islands. According to climate scientists based on a recent discovery, the world’s biggest iceberg in Antarctica is about to enter the open ocean which would cause an even higher increase in sea levels and put countries such as Brunei and Vietnam as risk. Additionally, air pollution still challenges the environment in many big cities with direct effects on wildlife. When the harmful gases combine with rain water, they give rise to acid rain which destroy aquatic life and damages buildings. In conclusion, I believe that the loss of the flora and fauna is a serious issue but not as serious as global warming and air pollution. The two latter environmental problems are the most important ones and if appropriate actions are not taken, we will all perish.