reasons why animals are being endangered and extinct

Nowadays, more and more animal species are on the verge of extinction due to two major factors as nature and human impact. An animal is called endangered when there are so few kinds of its left that it is in jeopardy of dying off. One of the underlying causes is human impact. Human environment modification has inflicted a reservoir of repercussion to the ecosystem. Firstly, illegal hunting wild animals has threatened wildlife especially critically endangered one. According to statistics, every 15 minutes, an elephant is killed for its ivory. Secondly, the humans’ action like clearing forests to build houses has destroyed many species’ food sources and viable shelter. As a result, many species die due to the inability to adopt the new environment. Scientists has estimated that almost all polar bears will have gone by 2100 as the ice melts. In addition, the other cause is from nature. Obviously, species extinction can happen without humans’ interference as it is an unavoidable portion of evolution. Since time immemorial before the humans’ advent, factors such as sudden climate change and catastrophic events like volcanic eruption, earthquake drove the decline of an array of species. For instance, around 65 million years ago, the impact of an asteroid to the earth contributed to the mass extinction of over 50% of species alive at that time. To conclude, a profusion of species has been listed to the IUCN worldwide, so it is urgent to make policy for conservation.