Reasons for people not wanting to get vaccinated.

A year into the pandemic of the coronavirus disease, the global effort to develop and distribute an effective vaccine has produced several promising options, however, certain studies indicate that individuals yet are hesitant to get themselves vaccinated. A key factor may include a sense of false security about the effectiveness of the vaccine [thesis]. Since several new strains of the coronavirus are spreading at a rapid rate, there have been concerns about the reduced effectiveness of vaccines against these strains, moreover, causing certain doubts about the benefits of vaccination [description]. The data for the Delta variant of the coronavirus for example, has suggested that there is an overall 60 – 70 percent of effectiveness against the strain, furthermore, causing a sense of self-doubt amongst individuals about the efficacy of the vaccine [example] which explains that a sense of false security about the potency of the vaccine is present amongst certain individuals [conclusion]. Another crucial factor that involves the question about the safety and development of the vaccine has indeed emerged as an increasing concern [thesis]. Under normal circumstances, during which the stages of vaccine development occur sequentially, a vaccine takes eight to fifteen years on average to get from the lab into the hands of health-care providers. Following the emergence of COVID-19, however, researchers around the globe accelerated the process by carrying out stages of development simultaneously and by looking to new vaccine technologies. The European Medicines Agency, for example, had announced that the COVID-19 vaccines will go through a fast-track approval phase, thereby, accelerating the process and ensuring the vaccine development at the earliest. Concerns about whether these changes will affect the safety of the vaccine is indeed, generating a sense of disapproval.