Reason why you want to study at CRPS

When I was a child, I frequently heard my parents’s discussion about the problems that I could not understand. Growing up a little more, I knew that they are public servants, sothey often discuss with each other about work. Therefore, I often heard policy issues, but at that time, I still couldn’t understand all of it. In September 2018, my father had to go on a business in China, and I did have a chance to come with him. Only be seen a part of China at that time, but I saw that it was much more developed than Vietnam. I honestly thought that why there was a difference like that, and asked my father for an answer; and he told me that “ There were various ways to make that difference, if you are curious about that, you have to find out yourself. I used to be like you when I was young, and I was found my passion in my current job. ” Those words of my father inspired my burning passion so much, and since then, I have hoped that I could do a job that is meaningful like my father. After that, when I’m a high school student, my teachers taught me lots of subjects, and I frequently have good marks in social subjects like geography, history. But I still could not be learned details about how Vietnam’s neighboring countries can develop quickly like what I want to know. However, I kept learning not only about ASEAN but also China, Japan, and some developed countries in Asia on my own, from books, the internet, and from my father – a person that inspired me very much. I also attend most of online events about policies or information about countries if I can. I did all those kinds of things whenever I could until I was in grade 11 – the time that I have to decide my future job through a university. I have a respectable senior at my school, Huyen. And when I asked her how to find a major, she told me that the most important thing is choosing something I honestly like and am passionate about. Since Huyen is a first-year university student in Japan this year, she gave me some universities that she had applied. Among them, I finally could find CRPS in Ritsumeikan University – where I can learn about countries in regions, policies, and all things that make a country develop sustainably. I do know that there are a lot of persistent problems like improper housing planning even in the capital of Vietnam that can not be solved right now. My target in the future is to learn the way to solve the problems of not only regional countries in ASEAN, but also developed country like Japan. So by knowledge if I have a chance to study in CRPS, it will help to do my future job, is follow my father’s steps – being a public servant – and contribute even a little to the growth of Vietnam.