In most developed countries, shopping is about buying the luxurious goods you need. Is it a positive or negative development?

In today's world, consumerism is seen as a type of entertainment, especially in wealthier countries. This is a negative trend because, while it is good for the economy, it encourages individuals to become more materialistic. People who spend their leisure time shopping cling to their possessions for happiness. They enjoy new, and frequently expensive, items, especially when they are worried or bored. As a result, accumulating things are a waste of money, diverting people's attention away from more meaningful and helpful pursuits like travel, arts and crafts, and sports. People, for example, would prefer purchasing the most recent gadgets even if they already own one that works. Nonetheless, retail therapy will be most beneficial to the economy. As sales of these products expand, more revenue will be generated, and more employment will be created as a result of the strong demand. Marketing and advertising companies, on the other hand, will invent additional techniques and instruments to advertise their products so that customers will want to buy more. This will set in motion a potentially harmful cycle by encouraging materialism. For example, my aunt would rather have a new designer bag than go on a vacation out of the country, but within a few weeks, she will want to buy another luxury bag from a different designer brand while her just purchased bag collects dust. In concusion, shopping as a kind of entertainment not only supports economic endeavors, but it also promotes a materialistic lifestyle. Self-control is required so that a more balanced budget for items and experiences can be set.