Reading versus modern technology

Nowadays many children no longer read books and instead spend their time using modern technology. The phenomenon makes many people discuss whether it is a positive trend or not. In my opinion, I disagree that it is a positive trend. I think it’s a problem that we need to face. Modern technology is conveinent but many children use them not for studying but for fun. They may use computers to play games or use phones to watch short videos. These are good ways to relax, but many children can’t really control their time so they might forget to do important things like study. When I was in high school, I had some smart classmates who were good at studying at first but failed to get into their dreaming colleges because of losing themselves in computer games. However, the phenomenon has its positive side. It means modern technology has widely spreaded around. Everyone in the society can’t live without them, and they surely bring us convenient lives. When we need to find an article, or look for a book, we don’t need to borrow a lot of heavy books in library but just search them in Internet. Sometime I don’t understand what teacher said in class, so I will watch other teachers’ class on video websites, which makes me master what I should learn. So we should see its good parts. To sum up, we should clearly see the advantages and disadvantages of modern technology. Try to make good use of it to make our lives better.