Reading helps us imagine better and have better language skills than watching TV

It is commonly believed that people who have reading hobby are more imaginative and own the more advanced language skills than those with the interest of watching TV. In my opinion, I totally agree with this statement for the following reasons. For the first reason, reading helps people master a variety of vocabulary, whereas watching TV might erode that ability. Reading materials can come from various sources, therefore, the volume of vocabulary of readers can be gradually broadened. By contrast, people who prefer spending time on TV are usually attached to some specific channels of their interest, consequently, the capacity of their vocabulary is still limited. As a matter of fact, they usually cannot excel people with reading hobby in expressing themselves, both in writing and speaking, due to the lack of vocabulary. Furthermore, it is thought that a world built up by written words can generate people’s imagination better than that by images and videos from TV. Basically, a story on TV is defined by images and unconsciously imprinted in the audience’s mind, while a story on a book provides only words and it demands an endeavour from readers to transform them into their own vivid illustration. For instance, Harry Potter’s fans, who have not watched the movies, give different ideas of how they portray that fictional world. In the contrary, the same situation cannot be applied to the movies’ fans, who may rewatch the franchise many times and get stuck in the created scenes. Hence, reading enables us to imagine better. To conclude, even though watching TV is a great way to get access to new things and somehow educate us, but it is reading of pleasure which is more beneficial to people in terms of imagination and language skills.