The negative impact of social media on young people outweighs its advantages

Social media is growing increasingly popular among young people. These platforms have a strong influence on individuals, especially younger generations. Ever since social media was invented, it has become the main platform for communication, and people can keep themselves up to date with their lives, families, and friends' lives. However, in other circumstances, I believe that the drawbacks of social media may exceed the benefits. On the one hand, there are several advantages to using social media. Firstly, using social media allows one to connect with individuals from all over the world. For instance, students studying abroad can keep in touch with their families and friends daily using the video call features of Messenger or various other apps. Additionally, study sessions that are regularly taking place on social networking sites or live streaming services. Learners now have free access to online lessons on such sites regardless of geographic locations. On the other hand, overuse of social media decreases the quality of interpersonal communication, and the consequences of replacing face-to-face interaction are even more significant. For instance, many teens are so addicted to social media that they continuously stare at their screens during family gatherings, paying little attention to the people around them. Moreover, the usage of social media has an impact on the way individuals speak and write, especially among the youth. Many kids nowadays have a habit of employing shortened language, which they commonly utilize in text messages to academic essays. Furthermore, this sort of platform can become a toxic environment where users can be verbally assaulted. For example, unlike traditional bullying, cyberbullying can occur at any time, day or night, and is committed by anonymous sources. Anxiety, fear, depression, low self-esteem, behavioral issues, and academic struggles are just a few challenges teenagers may experience if they are targets. In conclusion, there are both pros and cons of social media, but the downsides of social media are more significant than the advantages.