Read the question below and write a thesis statement. You should write one sentence that clearly takes a stand and summarizes the statement in the question. Due to the rapid development and expansion of supermarkets in some countries many small, local businesses are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local businesses will bring about the death of local communities.

The tremendous growth of supermarkets in few nations is becoming a potential threat to the local businesses and a small number of people believe that all this will become one of the key factors in shutting down of small businesses and their demise. As per the pertaining trend, there is no doubt that these big market giants are going to give the local businesses a run for their money and surely further bring their downfall. But first we need to take a look at the main factors behind the exponential development of the supermarkets. To begin with, the modern era has witnessed has witnessed a drastic shift in terms of the selling and buying culture which has given the colossal stores a plethora of growth opportunities making business and survival tough for local vendors. Backed with strong finances, these stores have the money to spend on marketing, advertising, product inventories and attractive schemes to bring consumers to them. Whether it's a Wallmart or BestBuy, both provide the luxury of buying any product ranging from a pair of shoes or a packet of chips, that too under one roof. On the contrary, small businesses like the street vendors or local stores don't have the financial support to be in the same league as the supermarkets. On a number of occasions, customers have to return empty-handed if their desired brand's product is not there at the neighbourhood shop or no discount coupon or voucher is provided on making a purchase. Also a lot of time is wasted in visiting one store to the other to buy different products. To conclude, the supermarkets are the future of the shopping world and are going to replace the local vendors. If these local communities have to stay in the market, they will have to innovate and come up with new strategies.