Tourism has negative environmental impacts on tourist areas. What are these impacts? How can damaging impacts be lessened?

Despite the fact that tourism is, undeniably, beneficial for the economy of a country, its detrimental effect on the atmosphere as well as the surroundings of tourist places can not be overlooked. This essay will examine two main effects of this problem and also actions that can potentially reduce it. The two main negative consequences of tourism are pollution and loss of natural habitat for animals. When a large number of visitors visit a tourist place, the rubbish and garbage they through on the roads also increases; consequently, the area gets polluted. To exemplify, Shimla, one of the most popular hill stations, has sixty percent more litter thrown on the streets than other nearby cities. Also, to provide accommodation for travelers, a huge number of buildings are being constructed; for that, either tree are being cut down or habitats of wildlife are being destroyed. As a result, the ecosystem and biodiversity of such regions are being affected in a harmful way. Some possible solutions to this problem are imposing strict fines on people polluting the land and protecting natural areas. Firstly, if authorities force fines, upon the individuals throwing garbage here and there, they would hesitate to do so. Secondly, the government should ban construction as well as cutting of trees in regions where wild animals are residing. Both of these initiatives could help in maintaining the environmental quality of tourist places. To conclude, there is no doubt that tourism is impacting tourist places in a negative manner; however, authorities can curtail this impact by taking certain measures.