Water scarcity is a serious problem in many countries. What are the causes of this?And what solutions can be done by individuals and the government?

Covering more than two-thirds of the earth's surface, water is the most abundant resource on our planet. Along with food and shelter, water is considered essential for the survival of animals and human beings, which is evident by the fact that 70% of our body is made of water. Water is vital for day to day usage in bathing and cleaning activities in the household, as well as for various industrial processes in the manufacturing industries. Even though it's difficult to imagine life without water, remote areas in many countries face the grave issue of water scarcity. In this essay, we will explore some possible causes of this and few solutions. Water scarcity refers to an absence of a continuous supply of water for the routine tasks in households, such as cooking, cleaning, bathing, and drinking. Some nations face this problem owing to their geographical location in a dry climate or arid condition, which is exemplified by countries such as Algeria and Ethiopia and many countries of Africa located in the Sahara desert. Some other countries are facing this problem because of poor water conservation efforts and decreasing underground water tables. Further, there is a rising problem of water pollution caused by waste products dumped by several industries. These problems portray that while water is abundant on earth, it's not readily available for consumption for millions of people. First of all, across the world, we as an individual have to increase the efforts to preserve water. Every drop of water that is not used by us, should not be allowed to go down the drain. Moreover, we need to focus on the efforts to harvest rainwater. There are some recent techniques which individuals can deploy in their home to conserve precipitation in the form of rain. In one such setup, the water is collected on the roof of a house and drained through a pipe to a well that is connected to groundwater. Such efforts help to replenish groundwater resources and maintain a continuous supply of water throughout the year. Governments across the world hold the responsibility to raise awareness about water pollution and water conservation methods. In conclusion, water problems are caused by the geographical location of an area, decreasing water table due to dry climate, or water pollution which contaminates the water. Actions can be taken on an individual level for water conservation and rainwater harvesting, and the government can assist by raising awareness.